top of page
Search
Writer's pictureKaitlin Donahue

3 Baby Play Ideas with Household Items

One of the best things about baby play is you really don't need many materials, and babies love simple household items. My go-to for baby play items is usually the kitchen. Pots, bowls, and spoons are all fun and exciting and require not set up. Just hand your baby a bowl and spoon and the will know what to do :).


Here are three super simple ideas for babies with items that you probably already have in your home right now:



Puffs in a Box

I usually try to be pretty strict about only having my kids eat at the table, but this is an occasional exception I'll make. Put baby in a big box (laundry baskets also work), and sprinkle in some puffs or cheerios! My daughter is super happy to sit and play with the cereal, and practice her pincer grasp picking up her snacks!








Ice Tray

Grab a tray and put a thin layer of water on the bottom. Then add a few ice cubes - that's it! Baby will love feeling the cold and exploring the water and ice. My toddler had fun playing with this tray as well, which can be great when you are working on that sibling bond :). Make sure to supervise this closely and keep the layer of water super thin for safety!






High Chair Animal Rescue

Use any small toys for this activity - it doesn't have to be animals! Cars, teethers, etc. all work! Tape down a few little toys to your baby's high chair tray and watch them try to pull them up! Great for older babies honing in on those fine motor skills! Bonus is they are safe and contained so you can empty the dishwasher/drink your coffee/anything else you want!






I hope these ideas were helpful. I know I had trouble when my son was a baby with how to play with him a lot of the time! What baby idea will you try?


Have a great day,


Kaitlin





10 views0 comments

Yorumlar


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page