top of page
Search
Writer's pictureKaitlin Donahue

St. Patrick's Day Sensory Tray for Toddlers - Pot of Gold!


I can't believe it's almost March! Where we live the snow looks like it is finally starting to melt and we have had some warmer days. I am so happy that Spring is close. One of my favorite parts of Spring is celebrating St. Patrick's Day. We got off to an early start with this simple and fun Pot of Gold Sensory Tray! Here are the details:


How to Color Rice

There are a couple of ways to color rice but my favorite is using liquid watercolor. I feel like the colors come out much more vibrant than food coloring, and it dries super quickly! I put about 3/4 cup of rice in a bag for each color, added a few drops and then mushed it around in the bag until all the rice was coated.



For this rainbow, I used red, yellow, green, blue, and purple liquid water color (I haven't quite mastered mixing orange yet). Then I spread the rice on my tray to make it into a rainbow shape. You will have extra of the blue and purple, so I just put that into little pots that I had from the dollar store.



I added a mini pot filled with little "gold" from the dollar store and then added some glitter shamrocks and gold to finish it off. My son loved mixing the colored rice together and burying and digging for the little gold pieces. The rainbow eventually became a big mix of rainbow rice, and I have the tray out in our little activity room so he can go back to it throughout the next few weeks. My favorite thing about rainbow rice as a sensory base is that it lasts forever, just keep it in a sealed bag.




Does your little one enjoy sensory play with rice? What is your favorite thing to add?



Have a great day,

Kaitlin

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page